Friday, July 24, 2015

Thursday, July 23, 2015

Saturday, July 18, 2015

Thursday, July 16, 2015

Mekka (Kaaba - Mecca), 1مكة المكرّم ,885

Mekka (Kaaba - Mecca), 1885
Photographer: Christiaan Snouck-Hurgronje (Abdul Ghaffar), Netherlands

Friday, July 10, 2015

Thursday, July 09, 2015

House of Albrecht Dürer, Nürnberg Germany, 1880s (early color photo "photochrom")

House of Albrecht Dürer, Nürnberg Germany, 1880s
(early color photo "photochrom")
Photographer: N & O (Nenke & Ostermaier, Dresden)  

Monday, July 06, 2015

Sunday, July 05, 2015

Watertower (Germany 1975)

Watertower (Germany 1975)
Photographer: Bernd/Hilla Becher, Düsseldorf, Germany

Wednesday, July 01, 2015

Sunday, June 28, 2015

Friday, June 26, 2015

Thursday, June 25, 2015

Schoolgirls doing gymnastics (Montparnasse, Paris, 1950s)

Schoolgirls doing gymnastics (Montparnasse, Paris, 1950s)
Photographer: Cas Oorthuys, the Netherlands

Wednesday, June 24, 2015

Architect Leo von Klenze, Germany 1850s

Architect Leo von Klenze, Germany 1850s 
Photographer: Franz Hanfstaengl, Munich - Germany

Tuesday, June 16, 2015

Monday, June 15, 2015

Monday, June 08, 2015

Wednesday, June 03, 2015

Conciergerie Rue Domat No 12, Paris (1910)

Conciergerie Rue Domat No 12, Paris (1910) 
Photographer: Eugène Atget, Paris / Berenice Abbott, N.Y. 

Tuesday, June 02, 2015

Dante Gabriel Rossetti with his family, playing chess (1863)

Dante Gabriel Rossetti with his family, playing chess (1863)
(later photogravure) 
Photographer: Charles Dodgson (a.k.a. Lewis Carroll), England

Thursday, May 28, 2015

Maria Alexandrovna, daughter of czar Alexander II of Russia, 1870s

Maria Alexandrovna, daughter of czar Alexander II of Russia, 1870s
Photographer: Carlo Bergamasco, St Petersburg, Russia